Let Them Eat Cake

After this past Thursday, I’m pretty convinced that your birthday is really just a test to see how much cake you can eat in one day. Everyone knows that I’m slightly obsessed with cupcakes and cakes in general. I have no idea what it is. I have a theory that it is the fact they are normally associated with celebrations. I mean, I personally don’t know anyone who casually makes cakes and always has a dozen cupcakes to offer their guests.

Working on your birthday leaves a lot to be desired, but my day started out the right way: with a chocolate covered strawberry cupcake from one of my favorite bakeries. Chocolate covered strawberry included. It was a vanilla cupcake with a chocolate filling and light, fluffy strawberry frosting on top.

IMG_8340

No, I regrettably did not have the entire cupcake for breakfast. I only had a bite and made my normal smoothie. I figured I would need some nutrients for this day. I felt a theme coming on.

For my second cake of the day, my work surprised me with these beautiful cupcakes from a local grocery store. They were delicious! They were vanilla cake with vanilla fluffy frosting. For someone who likes cake as much as I do, I sure disappoint with my favorite. I like vanilla. Even more disappointing is that I like the lightest frosting you can get, something along the lines of whipped cream works best for me.

IMG_8346

There’s something about super sweet frosting I just can’t stand. It makes my teeth feel like they are decaying on the spot. But the frosting on these cupcakes did not disappoint. I could have eaten it alone with a spoon.

IMG_8351

After a dinner (yes, it was real food, not sugar based) I was surprised with a whole cake… yes I know this is getting ridiculous by now. It was around this time I decided it was a day to test how much I love cake. Added bonus: how cute are the safari themed candles?!

IMG_8359

The cake takes the cake…. haha? Like what is this post even about… This final one was vanilla cake with a whipped cream frosting and layers of raspberry jam. Like added, added bonus with this one: Champagne.

IMG_8360

I don’t even need gifts on my birthday. Give me cake, candles and champagne and I’ll be the happiest of campers.

Luckily, I had help to eat all of the above and my weekend following was full of running. But there is still some of that last one left…. that I should probably finish so it can’t temp me any longer!

4 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cake

Leave a Reply

