Savoring Vacation and Quesadillas

And on the 5th day off in a row… I actually felt like I had a day off! I can’t believe tomorrow is already another Monday, but I also can’t believe how much I have done in the past five days. There have been so many holiday parties, runs, baking and shopping.

This morning I forced myself to get out of bed at a reasonable time so I won’t be hating myself tomorrow morning at 6:30 am. After a leisurely morning of coffee and nisu (a Finnish coffee bread) french toast, I waited for the rain to stop and headed out on a run. I was expecting it to be chilly after a cold rain and a harsh wind, but it felt a lot like spring. I was way over prepared in my cold weather gear and had to walk a little toward the end just to cool off before I got back inside (the last portion was also up a hill… coincidence that I stopped?).

IMG_7070

I did manage to make it through four miles. It felt great to get out for the second day in a row. It felt a little too great, actually. My second mile ended up being around 7 minutes and 18 seconds… way too fast for me on the off season. However, it did bring my average mile time for the run down which was good for my leisurely last two miles.

IMG_7077

I got to rock my new Bose SoundSport headphones that I wrote about wanting here. It was a Christmas wish come true! I was lucky enough to get one item off that list. So far they are working out great! I don’t have to worry about them falling out getting to change songs right from the cord is a great feature! I also ordered myself some Pro Compression socks that were featured on my wish list because they are having a deal right now where you get a grab bag of marathon socks for $60. From that $60, you can take 42% off site wide bringing the three pairs of socks ($150 value!!) for almost $30. Unreal.

After a leisurely day of watching football napping, I ended the day making some steak fajita quesadillas.

IMG_7087

Peppers and onions were prepped.

IMG_7089

Steak was salted, cooked on the grill and sliced. My boyfriend got this cutting board for Christmas from Boston HandyWorks. It a nonprofit based out of Boston that takes in homeless men and women and provides temporary employment and training. Besides making these amazing cutting boards, they offer repair and maintenance services. Once someone graduates the program, they have improved self confidence along with a marketable skill. Since 2009, 52% of program graduates were employed or working a paid internship.

IMG_7094

Steak was assembled with cheese, BBQ sauce, cooked peppers and onions, and more cheese on flour tortillas.

IMG_7096

Tortillas were folded in half (we did it this way for easier flipping.. at least one side this way is a solid wall) and grilled on both sides until nice and crunchy.

IMG_7099

Each quesadilla was cut in half and thoroughly enjoyed alongside a quick black bean soup. Yum, yum! The quesadillas were nice and crunchy on the outside and soft and cheesy on the inside. Perfect for dipping into soup.

After dinner we made milkshakes to use up old candy bars. Maybe were are the last to know about this idea, but a milkshake is a great way to get rid of old candy you are never going to eat. You simply take said candy, a scoop of vanilla ice cream, milk, and blend it right up!

Oh and in case anyone was wondering how my knew knitting hobby is going… it looks a lot like this:

IMG_7102

I do have a more semi-successful scarf in the making, but I wanted to try out one of these 30 minute infinity scarves using your hands instead of knitting needles. All I got out of it was a ball of tangled yarn. I was doing well for a while, but then I realized I needed another ball of yard and decided to destroy my creation. That was a bad idea. Yarn chaos. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

