Homeless Animal Awareness

Monday being over = 50% through my work week! I’m lucky enough to get Wednesday through Friday off this year for Thanksgiving. In the past, I barely got any days off between working at a busy coffee shop while on break or going into J.Crew for Black Friday madness. Needless to say, I’m going to enjoy every second.

Today I didn’t even consider waking up for a run before work since it was raining, humid, and I wanted to have a break after yesterday’s race. However, when I got home it would have been perfect running weather… except for the fact that it was pitch black. How do people run in the dark?! The thought is terrifying. It’s not even that I’m worried about getting hit by a car or running off into a ditch, it’s more like I live in rural NH and who knows what animals could be lurking out there. Just last night, as I was going to bed, I could hear some pretty upset wildlife being attacked outside my window. Not the most comforting.

Speaking of animals… I can across this video today:

 

I then looked up some facts about homeless animals:

  • Approximately 7.6 million companion animals enter animal shelters nationwide every year. Of those, approximately 3.9 million are dogs and 3.4 million are cats.
  • Each year, approximately 2.7 million animals are euthanized (1.2 million dogs and 1.4 million cats).
  • Approximately 2.7 million shelter animals are adopted each year (1.4 million dogs and 1.3 million cats).
  • Of the dogs entering shelters, approximately 35% are adopted, 31% are euthanized and 26% of dogs who came in as strays are returned to their owner.
  • About twice as many animals enter shelters as strays compared to the number that are relinquished by their owners.

Source

…Then I went and adopted all the dogs in the world. Just kidding. If I could, I would! It’s so sad to hear about kill shelters and the poor animals that are found abandoned… I can’t help but think of all the love I could give them. Even though I can’t commit to a new furry friend at the moment, there are still a ton of ways to help! Local animals shelters and humane societies are always looking for donated blankets and bowls. So clean out your linens, buy some fresh new fluffy towels for the cold months ahead, and donate the old ones! You can also visit the ASPCA site and learn how to get involved.

IMG_6540

 

If only all dogs were treated as well as Coco. I mean… she has taken over this entire couch for the most part.

So as the holidays approach, let’s all make sure we take some time to help make a difference out there. Animals shelters, soup kitchens, churches, and schools are always looking for help and donations all year round (and especially during the holidays). It feels just as good to give back as it does to receive gifts, I promise!

Leave a Reply

