Back in the Groove

 

 

Prior to running my marathon, I did a lot of reading. One thing I didn’t look that much into is what it would be like after. I expected to be soar. I expected to be tired. I expected to lose a few toenails. But what you expect from reality can be drastically different. At first I thought running was a breeze after. I must have had some weird extended running high going on or something. Every run I did after wasn’t more than 2 or 3 miles, but my arches always seemed to be on fire when I finished. After a weekend away with lots of walking involved, I thought for sure it was the end of my running career and I had seriously messed up my foot.

IMG_6158

So, naturally, I sat in the airport snap chatting everyone that I thought I broke my foot. As soon as I got back that day I got an x-ray. And waited for the results. I was just limping around hoping I could run again soon. I got a call two days later, and thank you Jesus, it was not broken. I decided staying off it for a few days was a good idea. By the end of the week my legs felt like they were going to run right off of my body. My foot was feeling a lot better (it must have been a sprain of some sort) so I decided I could suck it up for a few miles and get some fresh air. I wore a pair of older shoes, my Ascics Gel-Kayanos, since they have more support. I focused on keeping on my toes and I got through the run (almost) pain free!

IMG_6227

It’s amazing what a few solid days off can do. Advantage of desk job = forced recovery.

After a weekend of easy runs, I think it’s time to reevaluate my running shoes again. Anyone else have a “graveyard” full of ghosts from running shoes past? Some of mine were pure experiments, some I wore to the soles, and some just never felt right. As usual, it’s back to the drawing board for me. I want something with enough support to keep me going for those long runs, but light enough that I don’t feel like I’m wearing a motion control shoe.

IMG_6226

I definitely plan on keeping my running easy for a while! I think I’m finally realizing how much wear and tear running a marathon can put on you body. I want to focus on becoming a stronger running and fully recover before I start picking up some winter races. The good news is that these cool fall New Hampshire days are perfect for light easy runs! For now it’s all about relaxing and enjoying the ride (and letting toenails grow back)! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

