Apple Cake

Sometimes you just have to bake a cake. After all, it’s somebody’s birthday somewhere, right?

After hearing about this recipe through one of my co-workers, I finally got a hold of it and today was the perfect day to test it out.

IMG_5909

I gathered my ingredients:

IMG_5808

Then I went wild and actually followed the recipe; separating the dry ingredients from the wet ingredients:

IMG_5809

I let the magical Kitchen Aid perform its duties:

IMG_5816

I opted for two round pans and made a few cupcakes on the side because sometimes you need to try the cake before assembly.

IMG_5822

The batter started out nice and light and got really dark… I was almost concerned at first. It almost resembled more of a carrot cake. But don’t worry, you can see those little apple pieces hanging out on top.

I didn’t have a frosting recipe to go with the cake, and honesty I’m not a huge frosting person. I can almost feel the cavities forming when I eat it. However, I stumbled across a caramel buttercream that sounded pretty amazing. Caramel with apples… and I right??! I was an idiot and only made half a batch thinking it would be the typical sweet stuff I hate… but it was amazing. Nice and light and full of caramel flavor without being too sweet.

Obviously for a caramel buttercream, caramel had to be made and added as the last step:

IMG_5835Mmmmm… I could have dealt without the cake and just ate the frosting until it was coming out of my ears. When I married together the frosting and the cake… I then had to be five and drizzle on some extra caramel that really shows how unartistic I am.

IMG_5922

Like my awkward caramel drizzle or not, the final product was delicious. It had a carrot cake consistency and sweetness. It was super moist from the apples and apple butter and the flavor was brought out by the added cinnamon. Since it is a very buttery recipe, I think it is better in its full cake form. Even from the few cupcakes I made, they came out more greasy than the cake. It’s almost like the batter needs that extra square footage to become delicious. Now all I need to do is resist going back for seconds… or maybe I’m already on thirds.

IMG_5927

Apple Cake

  • 1 1/2 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter, at room tempuature, plus more for the pans
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 medium apples (preferably Granny Smith), cored and peeled
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup apple butter
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1.) Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Coat the cake pans with butter; line the bottoms with parchment paper, and coat parchment, Set aside. Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt into a large bowl. Shred the apples on a box grater. Transfer to appear towers; press firmly to drain. IN a bowl, toss with 1/2 cup of the flower mixture to coat.

2.) Mix the butter and sugars in an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, mixing week after each. Add the remaining flour mixture; mix to combine. Mis in the vanilla, apple butter, and oil, then mix in the shredded apples. Divide the batter among pans.

3.) Bake until a cake tester inserted into the centers comes out clean. Let cool in pans on wire racks for 15 minutes. Invert the cakes onto the racks. Remove the parchment’ reinvent and cool completely.

Caramel Buttercream

  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 12 ounces (3 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 4 large egg whites, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1.) Bring 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar and the water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Wash sides of pan with a wet pastry brush to prevent sugar crystals from forming. Cook, undisturbed, until caramel is dark amber. Remove from heat, and slowly add cream, stirring with a wooden spoon until smooth. Let cool.

2.) Beat butter with a mixer on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl.

3.) Place whites and remaining 1/2 cup sugar in a heatproof mixer bowl set over a pot of simmering water. Whisk until sugar dissolves and mixture registers 160 degrees on a candy thermometer.

4.) Remove from heat, and attach bowl to a mixer. Whisk on medium speed for 5 minutes. Increase speed to medium-high, and whisk until stiff, glossy peaks form, about 6 minutes. Reduce speed to medium, and add beaten butter, cup at a time, whisking well after each addition. Whisk in vanilla.
5.Switch to paddle attachment. With mixer on low speed, add caramel, and beat until smooth, 3 to 5 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Apple Cake

    1. Yes! Coconut sugar can be substituted for white and brown sugar on a 1:1 basis. You may want to consider melting the sugar first since it is more coarse. Melting it will create a smoother cake whereas leaving it coarse will create a more porous cake.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okie, I will be using melted coconut sugar, since it takes time to blend with other ingredients. Actually I’m using it coz I love the coconut flavor 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

